Life as a College Student with Autism – Some Regrettable News About My Grades

Unfortunately, I have some very regrettable news to share with you all. My final grades were recorded over the winter break and I finished with two grades of a D in both my English 1101 class and my Computer Literacy class. I was very heartbroken and devastated when the moment of truth arrived.

My first semester turned into a complete disaster because of my procrastination and laziness. I have no one else to blame but myself. I did not put in the necessary amount of hard work that is required to succeed in college. I had a tremendous amount of difficulty keeping up with the assignments.

As far as my English class went, I wrote a quality research paper and a quality final term paper; however, I ended up turning both papers in late. I just wasn’t diligent enough with my work. I feel extremely bad about the way I behaved, and when I reflect back to last semester I am astonished about my overall nonchalant attitude.

From my Freshman to Junior Year of High School I was a very hard-working and dedicated student. I was committed to excellence. Then all of a sudden during my Senior year, I became a procrastinator and I developed bad habits.   However, in High School I always managed to get A’s and B’s  on a consistent basis, excluding math, of course, which has always been my downfall and major weak point.  The biggest difference was that I was able to compensate for the senioritis!

In college the most important measure of success is based on  the amount of work the student puts in. During the beginning of the first semester, which is documented in my previous posts, I had a very positive attitude and I was also extremely motivated. Then all of a sudden something changed on the inside and it started showing on the outside. I started thinking it was okay to miss classes and I stopped working hard. I turned into the senioritis student all over again! 

I am on academic probation with my Vocational Rehab and if this trend continues, I could be in major trouble with Broward College. Right now I need to look at myself in the mirror, and I need a serious reality check. I am going to make some significant changes and I am going to make sure that I become the student that I have been and that I still want to be.

I will never give up on myself, and I know for a fact that I am very intelligent, and I know I have what it takes to be successful. I have disappointed and let everyone down in my life. This is a very emotional blog for me to write, due to how melancholy I feel. It’s all about asserting myself and becoming the college student I know I can become.  I have finally awakened from a terrible nightmare and I am ready to accomplish my goals and dreams!

Photo by kundl

2 Responses to Life as a College Student with Autism – Some Regrettable News About My Grades

  1. LeilaSky says:

    Thank you for being so open – a rare quality for most adults (let alone college students!) The fact that you’re able to be this honest, tells me that you already have what it takes to be successful in life. So just keep on keeping on. Things do get better.

  2. Jay says:

    Hi Matt,
    You write beautifully. I love your writing style.Your intelligence shows in your writing skills. I can see you emerging as a winner! Good luck in all your endeavours!!! And may all your dearest wishes come true!

Leave a comment